2020 NAAB RESEARCH AWARD

The National Association of Animal Breeders (NAAB) has announced that nominations for the 2020 NAAB Research Award will be accepted until and must be received by **January 15, 2020**. Anyone who is interested in or associated with the artificial insemination industry or research and education related to the artificial insemination industry, animal physiology or animal breeding may submit nominations for prospective Research Award recipients.

Note: Pursuant to action taken by the NAAB Board of Directors in 2004, this award will only be presented in the even years, in conjunction with the NAAB Biennial Technical Conference.

Basic qualifications of nominees for the NAAB Research Award are:

- 1. Shall have made a significant contribution to the science of artificial insemination, physiology or animal breeding in the United States.
- 2. Based on, but not limited to original published research and teaching. Cumulative contribution of the nominee's research to the A.I. industry to be a primary consideration.
- 3. Shall not have previously received the NAAB Research Award.
- 4. Must be living and currently active in his field of work at the time of nomination.
- 5. Nominees are not required to be U.S. citizens.

The award will consist of an attractive plaque and \$2,500 from NAAB. Presentation of this award will be made at the NAAB Annual Meeting on Thursday, September 17th, 2020 during a special luncheon.

Past recipients of the NAAB Research Award are:

Robert Foote, Cornell University	1970	Jack Britt, NC State University	1991
Harold Hafs, Michigan State University	1971	Ronald Pearson, VPI&SU	1992
Ed Graham, University of Minnesota	1972	H. Duane Norman, USDA-AIPL	1993
William Hansel, Cornell University	1973	Rex Powell, USDA-AIPL	1994
Dale VanVleck, Cornell University	1974	Margaret Dentine, University of Wisconsin	1995
A.E. Freeman, Iowa State University	1975	George Wiggans, USDA-AIPL	1996
John Almquist, Penn State University	1976	No award given	1997
C.R. Henderson, Cornell University	1977	Jeffrey S. Stevenson, Kansas State Univ.	1998
Ralph Erb, Purdue University	1978	George Shook, University of WI-Madison	1999
Robert Everett, Cornell University	1979	William W. Thatcher, University of Florida	2000
B.W. Pickett, Colorado State University	1980	Duane Garner, XY Corporation, Inc.	2001
E. Keith Inskeep, W. Virginia State Univ.	1981	Paul VanRaden, USDA-AIPL	2002
Rupert Amann, Colorado State University	1982	Lawrence A. Johnson, USDA-AIPL	2003
George Seidel, Colorado State University	1983	Raymond Nebel, VPI & SU	2004
Ben T. McDaniel, NC State University	1984	Milo C. Wiltbank, Univ.of WisMadison	2006
R.G. Saacke, VPI & SU	1985	Ignacy Misztal, University of Georgia	2008
Neal First, University of Wisconsin	1986	Bennet Cassell, Virginia Tech	2010
Horst Leipold, Kansas State University	1987	David Patterson, University of Missouri	2012
Frank N. Dickinson, USDA-AIPL	1988	Curtis Van Tassel, USDA-BFGL, AIPL	2014
Roy Ax, University of Wisconsin	1989	Dr. Jeremy Taylor, University of MO	2016
Phillip L. Senger, Washington State Univ.	1990	Dr. Richard Pursley, Michigan State Univ.	2018

NOMINATION FORM for 2020 NAAB RESEARCH AWARD

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF ANIMAL BREEDERS

I wish to place the following person in nomination for the NAAB Research Award. Biographical and supporting information on the candidate will be supplied by me upon request. (Principal nominators of successful candidates will be notified around February 14, 2020).

NOMINEE (please print)
Organization
Address
City, State, Zip
Phone Number
Email address
NAAB RESEARCH AWARD: Nominee shall have made a significant contribution to the science of artificial insemination, physiology or animal breeding in the United States, based on but not limited to original published research and teaching. Cumulative contribution of the nominee's research to the A.I. industry is a primary consideration. Nominee must be living and currently active in his field of work at the time of nomination and shall not have previously received the award under consideration. Nominees are not required to be a US citizen.
NOMINATOR (Please print)
Signature
Organization
Address
City, State, Zip
Phone Number
Email address

Nomination form must be returned by January 15, 2020 to:

National Association of Animal Breeders 8413 Excelsior Dr., Suite 140 Madison, WI 53717

Or email: dcraig@naab-css.org